Annual Congress 2013
University of Victoria, Victoria, BC
June 2 - 5, 2013

Registration for the Congress of the Social Sciences and Humanities is required for all participants. Please visit the CFHSS website. The Canadian Philosophical Association Congress registration fees are $70 for full members, $35 for students, retired, part-time academics, and $80 for non-members. Our tables will be located in the registration / Expos space - McKinnon building.

Programme Information

Please note: The lists of abstracts and symposia will not be distributed at the congress. Copies of the programme will be available at the CPA table (registration / Expo space - McKinnon bldg.)

Presidential Address

"Brainscams, Neurononsense, Implicit Bias, and Why the Still Vexing Question of Women in Philosophy is Everybody's Business". Adele Mercier.

Programmes of Other Societies
Meeting of the Chairs of the Departments of Philosophy

The meeting of the Chairs of the philosophy departments will take place on June 2nd from 12:30 to 14:00 in room D125 of the Clearihue building.

Congress Program Chair

Congress Program Chair: Guillaume Fréchette
Fachbereich Philosophie (KGW)
Universität Salsburg
Franziskanergasse 1
A-5020 Salzburg
Austria (Autriche - in French)

Essay Prizes
Student Essay Prizes

Dialogue, the bilingual journal of the Canadian Philosophical Association, awards up to three prizes each year to papers submitted by students for the Annual Congress of the CPA. Papers submitted by students are double-blind refereed together with papers submitted by faculty and others. One prize is reserved for each official language; prizes are awarded when merited. There is a first prize and two equal second prizes.

Faculty Essay Prizes

The CPA has introduced two essay prizes for faculty papers submitted to our annual conference: Non-tenured Professor, Lecturer, Sessional Essay Prize; and Tenured Professor Essay Prize.

» Essay prizes ...


Hitting the Job Market (For job seekers.)

Effective immediately: the CPA's new e-mail address is

» See this year's prize winners on the Prizes page.

» Can't find what you're looking for? Check the site guide.

University of Toronto

Dept: Philosophy
Chair: Arthur Ripstein.
Location: Toronto
web: Click here

(For changes contact web editor)

» Full list of schools

New members