CPA Past Book Prize Winners

The Canadian Philosophical Association is pleased to announce the 2017 CPA Biennial Book Prize Laureates

Margaret Moore (Queen's) – A Political Theory of Territory. Oxford University Press 2015

Jean-Marc Narbonne (Laval) – Antiquité critique et modernité. Les Belles Lettres 2016

Avery Kolers (Louisville) – A Moral Theory of Solidarity. Oxford University Press 2016


Many congratulations to these authors, and to all whose books were nominated!

CPA Book Prize Winners through the Years


Sponsors:        Nicholas Hoare Ltd and Renaud-Bray Ltée


Arthur Ripstein,  Equality, Responsibility and the Law (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press) 1999

Claude Panaccio,  Le discours intérieur : de Platon à Ockham (Paris: Éditions du Seuil) 1999

Henry Harris, Hegel’s Ladder (Indianapolis: Hackett Publishing Co) 1997



Sponsor:      Broadview Press


Joseph Heath,  Communicative Action and Rational Choice (Cambridge: MIT Press) 2001

Richard Bodéüs,  Aristote [Catégories]  (Paris: Les Belles Lettres) 2001

Fred Wilson, The Logic and Methodology of Science in Early Modern Thought (Toronto: University of Toronto Press) 1999

Honourable Mentions

Jean-Marc Narbonne, Hénologie, Ontologie et Ereignis  (Paris: Les Belles Lettres) 2001

Alan Richardson, Carnap’s Construction of the World (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press) 1998

Kok-Chor Tan, Toleration, Diversity, and Global Justice (University Park: Pennsylvania University Press) 1998



Sponsor:      Broadview Press


Christine Overall, Aging, Death, and Human Longevity (Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press) 2003

John Russon, Human Experience: Philosophy, Neurosis, and the Elements of Everyday Life (Albany: State University of New York) 2003

Ronald de Sousa, Évolution et rationalité (Paris: Presses universitaires de France) 2004

Honourable Mentions

Roger Shiner, Freedom of Commercial Expression (Oxford: Oxford University Press) 2003

Jason Holt, Blindsight and the Nature of Consciousness (Peterborough: Broadview Press) 2003

Sébastien Charles, Berkeley au siècle des Lumières (Paris: Vrin) 2003



Sponsors:       Broadview Press, Les Presses de l’Université Laval and La chaire "La philosophie dans le monde actuel"


Claude Panaccio, Ockham on Concepts (Ashgate) 2004

Kenneth Dorter, The Transformation of Plato’s  ‘Republic’ (Rowman and Littlefield Publishers) 2006

Louis Valcke, Pic de la Mirandole. Un itinéraire philosophique (Paris: Les Belles Lettres) 2005

Honourable Mentions

Ralph Pred,  Onflow:  Dynamics of Consciousness and Experience (Cambridge: MIT Press) 2005

Paul Thagard, Hot Thought: Mechanisms and Applications of Emotional Cognition (Cambridge: MIT Press) 2006

Rebecca Kukla, Mass Hysteria: Medicine, Culture, and Mothers’ Bodies (Rowman and Littlefield             Publishers) 2005

Dale Turner, This Is Not a Peace Pipe: Towards a Critical Indigenous Philosophy (Toronto: University of Toronto Press) 2006

Syliane Malinowski-Charles, Affects et conscience chez Spinoza. L’automatisme dans le progrès éthique (Georg Olms) 2004

Michel Seymour,  L’institution du langage (Montréal: Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal) 2005



Sponsors:       Les Presses de l’Université Laval and La chaire "La philosophie dans le monde actuel"


Anjan Chakravartty, A Metaphysics for Scientific Realism: Knowing the Unobservable (Cambridge           University Press) 2007

Michel Seymour,  De la tolérance à la reconnaissance (Montréal: Boréal) 2008

Catherine Wilson, Epicureanism at the Origins of Modernity (Oxford University Press) 2008

Honourable Mentions

Jeffrey Reid,  L’anti-romantique : Hegel contre le romantisme ironique (Québec: Les Presses de l’Université Laval) 2007

John Schellenberg, The Wisdom to Doubt: A Justification of Religious Skepticism (Ithaca: Cornell University Press) 2007

Martin Thibodeau, La théorie esthétique d’Adorno (Rennes: Presses universitaires de Rennes) 2008

Evan Thompson, Mind in Life (Cambridge, USA: Harvard University Press) 2007

Sergio Tenenbaum, Appearances of the Good: An Essay on the Nature of Practical Reason (New York: Cambridge University Press) 2007

Bas C. Van Fraassen, Scientific Representation (New York: Oxford University Press) 2008



Sponsors:       Cambridge University Press and Les Presses de l’Université Laval


Arthur Ripstein, Force and Freedom: Kant’s Legal and Political Philosophy (Cambridge, USA: Harvard    University Press) 2009

Avery Kolers, Land, Conflict, and Justice: A Political Theory of Territory (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge     University Press) 2009

Honourable Mentions

David Ciavatta,  Spirit, the Family, and the Unconscious in Hegel’s Philosophy (Albany: State University of New York Press) 2009

Joseph Heath, Following the Rules: Practical Reasoning and Deontic Constraint (New York: Oxford University Press) 2008

John Schellenberg, The Will to Imagine: A Justification of Skeptical Religion (Ithaca: Cornell University Press) 2009

Stephen Yablo, Thoughts: Philosophical Papers, volume 1 (New York: Oxford University Press) 2008



Sponsors:       Cambridge University Press and Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal


Thomas de Koninck, Questions Ultimes (Ottawa, University of Ottawa Press)

Sue Donaldson and Will Kymlicka, Zoopolis: A Political Theory of Animal Rights (Oxford: Oxford University Press) 2011

Wayne Sumner, Assisted Death: a Study in Ethics and Law (New York: Oxford University Press) 2011

Kristin Andrews, Do Apes Read Minds? Toward a New Folk Psychology (Cambridge: MIT Press)


One English prize was split between W. Sumner and K. Andrews; the judges deemed both books of equal quality



Sponsors:       Cambridge University Press and Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal


Sophie-Jan Arrien, L’inquiétude de la pensée : l’herméneutique de la vie du jeune Heidegger (1919 – 1923) (Paris: Presses Universitaires de France) 2014

Bruce Gilbert, The Vitality of Contradiction: Hegel, Politics, and the Dialectic of Liberal-Capitalism (Montreal and Kingston: McGill – Queen’s University Press) 2013

Diana Raffman, Unruly Words: A Study of Vague Language (New York: Oxford University Press) 2014