Prizes of the Canadian Philosophical Association


A number of prizes are awarded by the Association. In addition to the student essay prizes (see below), and the Biennial Book Prize, the CPA awards two faculty essay prizes.

Biennial book prize

Faculty essay prizes

Student essay prizes


Essay Prizes

A number of prizes are awarded by the Association for essays submitted for the Annual Congress of the CPA: two faculty essay prizes (one tenured, one-tenured) and up to three student essay prizes. One student prize is reserved for each official language.

General eligibility conditions: Only current members of the CPA may submit papers to the annual conference. Members of the Executive, members of the Board of Directors, members of the Administrative Committee and members of the Programme Committee (including the Programme Chair) are not eligible for these awards.



Faculty Essay Prizes

The CPA offers two essay prizes for faculty papers submitted to our annual conference: Non-tenured Professor, Lecturer, Sessional Essay Prize; and Tenured Professor Essay Prize.

The two faculty essay prize winners will appear on the main program as a plenary session.

          Non-tenured Professor, Lecturer, Sessional Essay Prize

Authors with a completed PhD who are either pre-tenure (tenure-stream) or non-tenured.

Winner 2017: Côté-Bouchard, Charles (Rutgers), "Is Epistemic Normativity Value-based?"

          Tenured Professor Essay Prize

Authors with a completed PhD who have been awarded tenure.*

Winner 2017: Brown, Bryson (Lethbridge), "Paraconsistency, Pluralistic Models and Reasoning in Climate Science"

Past winners for CPA Faculty Essay Prizes


Student Essay Prizes

Dialogue, the bilingual journal of the Canadian Philosophical Association, awards up to three prizes each year to papers submitted by students for the Annual Congress of the CPA. Papers submitted by students are double-blind refereed together with papers submitted by faculty and others. One prize is reserved for each official language; prizes are awarded when merited. There is a first prize and two equal second prizes.

Winners 2017

Falbo, Arianna (SFU), "Analyzing the Wrongness of Lying: A Defence of Pluralism"

Juvshik, Tim (Massachusetts at Amherst), "Relativity and the Causal Efficacy of Abstract Objects"

Past winners for CPA Student Essay Prizes



The CPA Biennial Book Prize

In philosophy, books are one of the most important means for communicating the results of research; quite often, they represent the culmination of a significant achievement in the course of a philosophical investigation. The Canadian philosophical community is an important contributor, in both English and French, of high quality philosophical research with an international reputation that shows the remarkable dynamism of philosophical life in Canada.

The Canadian Philosophical Association wishes to have these contributions better known and, to this end, has instituted a book prize.

Information about the book prize (pdf)     English version / French version


Winners 2017

Moore, Margaret (Queen's) — A Political Theory of Territory. Oxford University Press, 2015

Narbonne, Jean-Marc (Laval) — Antiquité critique et modernité. Les Belles Lettres, 2016

Kolers, Avery (Louisville) — A Moral Theory of Solidarity. Oxford University Press, 2016

The CPA would like to thank warmly the members of the jury and its sponsors, the Cambridge University Press and Les Presses de l'Université de Montréal.


Past CPA Book Prize Winners


Description of the 2017 Book Prize

The Canadian Philosophical Association will award a maximum of three prizes for the best books in philosophy published by members of the Association. The amount of the prizes is determined by available resources. The sponsors of the 2017 Prize are The Cambridge University Press and Les Presses de l'Université de Montréal.









For a book to be eligible for a prize, it must make a significant contribution to philosophical research.

Text-books, collections of articles by several authors, conference proceedings and translations, except if they are critical editions, are not eligible for a prize. If there is a question about the eligibility of a book, the Selection Committee will have the final say in the matter.

For the 2017 prize, the book must have been published in English or French between October 1, 2014 and October 1, 2016.

The author of the book must be a member in good standing of the Canadian Philosophical Association for 2017 before the deadline of October 31, 2016.


Date of Submission

The book must be submitted to the Executive Director of the Canadian Philosophical Association before October 31, 2016.

Also, three copies of any information that can help the committee in reaching its decision, such as book reviews, critical notices, etc. should be included.

Three copies of the book and other relevant documents should be sent to the Executive Director of the Canadian Philosophical Association, PO Box 47077; rpo Blackburn Hamlet, Gloucester ON, K1B 5P9. The Selection Committee might require two additional copies of the book if it decides to send the book for external refereeing.


The Equity Committee of the CPA works to collect data on the situation of women, visible minorities, philosophers with disabilities, and Aboriginal philosophers in Canada, as well as to share information on best practices to promote equity within the profession.

Read more here.

Recent News

Philosophy in Canada. And More.