Scholarships and Prizes

  • Jennifer Burns posted an article
    The Federation launches a new award with support from SSHRC. see more

    Le français suit.

    If you are a graduate student  submitting to the Canadian Philosophical Association’s call for papers for the 2020 Congress, you can also apply for a Congress Graduate Merit Award (CGMA). The CGMA is a $500 prize and has two objectives:

    1. To recognize and celebrate the academic excellence of deserving graduate students who present their work at Congress
    2. To offset costs associated with participating in Congress

    The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences is piloting this award program in 2020 thanks to financial support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).  

    The Canadian Philosophical Association has four (4) awards available to distribute in 2020. Payments will be made by cheque from the Federation to endorsed graduate recipients who attended the 2020 Congress and picked up their badge from Congress registration. Payments will be issued no later than June 30, 2020.

    To be eligible for consideration, candidates must meet the following criteria:

    1. Be a graduate student (M.A., PhD) enrolled in a recognized post-secondary institution
    2. Be in good academic standing (students can choose to demonstrate this by providing a copy of a recent academic transcript, a letter of support from an academic supervisor, or a statement of their accomplishments)
    3. Be a member of the Canadian Philosophical Association for 2020
    4. Provide an abstract of up to 250 words of the research they propose to present at Congress

    You can apply for the award  by completing the fields marked *CGMA* on the EasyChair submission portal at any time before the paper submission deadline of January 12, 2020. Please contact with any questions. 

    Si vous êtes un-e étudiant-e  de cycle supérieur,  vous pouvez poser votre candidature pour un Prix de merite des cycles supérieures du Congrès (PMCSC) avec votre soumission a l’appel de contributions pour le congrès de l’ACP.  Le PMCSC a deux principaux objectifs :

    1. De souligner et de récompenser l’excellence universitaire des étudiants méritants aux cycles supérieurs qui présentent leurs travaux au Congrès.
    2. De compenser les frais associés à la participation au Congrès.

    La Fédération des sciences humaines lance le projet pilote du prix PMCSC avec l’assistance financière offerte par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH).

    L'Association canadienne de philosophie a droit à quatre (4) prix PMCSC en 2020. Les paiements ne seront versés qu’aux lauréats (étudiants aux cycles supérieurs approuvés) qui ont assisté au Congrès 2020 et recueilli leur badge pour leur inscription au Congrès. Les paiements seront versés par la Féderation aux lauréats au plus tard le 30 juin 2020. Les paiements seront versés par chèque.

    Pour être admissibles, les candidats doivent satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

    1.  être étudiants aux cycles supérieurs (maîtrise ou doctorat) inscrits auprès d’un établissement postsecondaire reconnu;
    2. avoir un dossier scolaire en règle (les étudiants peuvent le démontrer à l’association au moyen d’un relevé de notes récent, d’une lettre d’appui fournie par un superviseur universitaire, ou d’un relevé des réussites universitaires) 
    3. être membres de l’Association canadienne de philosophie pour 2020.
    4. fournir un résumé (d’au plus 250 mots) des travaux de recherche qu’ils se proposent de présenter au Congrès 2020.

    Vous pouvez poser votre candidature par le biais du portail EasyChair pour le congres 2020 de l’ACP, en complétant les champs repérés par *PMCSC* en tout temps avant la date limite de soumission, le 12 janvier 2020.  Pour tout renseignement complémentaire, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec


    Photo by/de Yann Allegre,  Unsplash

  • Jennifer Burns posted an article
    Submissions are due by September 1, 2020. see more



    The Association for Informal Logic and Critical Thinking (AILACT) invites submissions for the 2020 AILACT Essay Prize in informal logic/critical thinking/argumentation theory. This will be the 16th year in which the prize (now $700 U.S.) has been offered. Submissions are due by September 1, 2020. Details are available at:




    Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

  • Jennifer Burns posted an article
    Date limite de dépôt des candidatures : 17 janvier 2020. see more

    Concours de stage postdoctoral du CRIDAQ, édition 2020-2021

    Date limite de dépôt des candidatures : 17 janvier 2020, 17 heures ;
    Résultats du concours : 13 mars 2020 ;
    Durée du stage : septembre 2020 à juin 2021.

    Les membres du Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la diversité et la démocratie (CRIDAQ) sont heureux d’offrir, pour l’année académique 2020-2021, un stage postdoctoral de 35,000$ (salaire brut), non renouvelable. Ce stage doit servir à mener un projet qui s’inscrit dans les axes et thématiques de recherche du CRIDAQ sous la supervision de l’un.e de ses membres, professeur.e dans une université québécoise.

    Lire la suite


    CRIDAQ Postdoctoral Fellowship academic year: 2020-2021

    Deadline for applications: 17 January 2020, 5 p.m;
    Competition results: March 13, 2020;
    Duration of the internship: September 2020 to June 2021. 

    The members of the Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la diversité et la démocratie (CRIDAQ) are offering, for the 2020-2021 academic year, a postdoctoral fellowship of $35,000 (gross salary), non-renewable. This fellowship must be used to carry out a project that falls within the scope of CRIDAQ’s research axes and themes under the supervision of one of its regular members in Québec.

    Read more


  • Jennifer Burns posted an article
    The Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2020-21 academic year. see more

    The Sansom Ideas Foundation is a trust created by a generous endowment by the late T.R. (Bob) Sansom (1933-2013), a political theorist who taught at Western University from 1965 until his retirement in 1998.  Bob was a passionate advocate of intellectual history as an educational medium, and in his memory the Foundation offers scholarships to graduate students working on topics in the history of ideas, at any Canadian university. The scholarships have a value of $10,000 per annum. Multiple scholarships may be awarded in any given year.

    Normally, scholarships will be awarded on a one-year basis. In the case of students working towards a PhD, a scholarship may be renewed on application and for a maximum of four years. Applicants must be enrolled in or applying to a graduate program at a Canadian university. Sansom Scholarships will be awarded in addition to the normal funding provided by the student’s graduate program.

    The Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2020-21 academic year. Applications are to be submitted electronically through the London Community Foundation at [] and include:

    • a letter outlining the candidate’s research interests and proposed course of study (indicating the program and institution in which they wish to hold the award)
    • relevant transcripts
    • a CV

    As well, all applicants must arrange for two academic reference letters to be sent directly by their referees to Board Trustees Dr. Mark G. Spencer ( and Dr. Richard Vernon (

    The deadline for applications to be complete is 1 March 2020.

    Applications in any field of the history of ideas will be considered, but for 2020-21 the Trustees will particularly welcome applications in the history of ideas related to political thought, philosophy, and history and historiography.